My heart is mush…

As a single person, (or married w/o children), you just kind of smile and nod when parents say those cheesy things about their children.  You politely choke back your vomit and try to look like you understand.

To say that all changes when you have children of your own doesn’t scratch the surface.  The instant love, the constant awe, the adoring eyes…it’s all true.  That’s all so one-sided though…when the child is old enough to understand and attatch…well, that’s when you melt.

The other night when she was sick, she found comfort in sleeping on mommy.  Mommy needed some sleep so she slept with me for 4 hours.  Well, she slept.  She stirred every hour and cried a little, but she would just adjust her head and zonk back out on my chest.  I never imagined that 4 short hours would stir such a bond in me.

Today when I came home I took her on my lap and she grinned from ear to ear.  She stuck her thumb in her mouth and for the first time nuzzled my chest after a bashful smile and snuggled with me.  I hugged her back and kissed her head.   She sat back up, smiled, and nuzzled me again.

I will never forget this day as long as I live.

One response to “My heart is mush…

  1. I have only seen you cry 3 times since I’ve known you. This day made 4.

Leave a Reply

